21st Hapilos Distribution Presents A New Dancehall Reggae Compilation

The new Dancehall Reggae compilation CERTIFIED BOOMSHOTS Vol. 1 has now hit iTunes. Distributed by 21st Hapilos and fully endorsed by Boomshots magazine, Certified Boomshots is evolving the genre and changing the game. First Buju Banton’s “Set Up The Mic” premiered on the Complex Media Network. Now the full 17-track compilation with striking cover photography by Peter Dean Rickards, is presenting the best of dancehall and reggae music to the world on a new level.

“21st Hapilos distribution is changing the face of the reggae industry,” says Johnny Wonder, executive vice-president of 21st Hapilos. “We’re making money for the producers. We’re investing our talent and energy and trying to help the game. From the biggest name producers to the little artists too. Our producers own their own music. We are the distributors. We get the music out there to new markets and make it popular culture. We don’t come to take anything from anyone. Enough people have done that already. We come to build this thing up.”

“I have known Johnny Wonder since the 1980s when he beat me in a soundclash,” says Rob Kenner. “I’ve seen him with his retail outlets, his artist management, his A&R experience. Few people have that kind of grassroots respect in this business. Even though a lot of people have fought him down over the years, John is a survivor. The Boomshots brand is proud to be associated with somebody of that caliber and we look forward to building with him over the years to come as we work together to change the game.”

“What Johnny is doing is a big move for dancehall and reggae,” says producer Stephen “Di Genius” McGregor, whose blazing new Beenie Man tune “Come Over” is included on CERTIFIED BOOMSHOTS Vol. 1. “It’s not everybody woulda really try to venture and try to understand the whole digital distribution side of things. Most of the producers and artists mentality is like ‘just wait for something to happen with the song.’ But with people like Johnny doing digital distribution it’s definitely a big big move. Those things help to keep the music relevant and keep it out there. Cause nobody’s gonna know about it unless it’s out there. You hear a song one time, and you know you can find it on iTunes right away. That kinda takes the thing out of that dinosaur mode.”

1. Buju Banton “Set Up The Mic”
2. Collie Buddz “Too Watchy”
3. Popcaan “Only Man She Want”
4. Chris Martin “Cheaters Prayer”
5. Vybz Kartel & Popcaan “We Never Fear Dem”
6. Mavado & Ne-Yo “I Know You Want Me” (Remix)
7. Shaggy “Party Every Night” (Remix)
8. Protoje “No Lipstick”
9. Tarrus Riley “Summer Fling”
10. Sean Paul & Fambo “Wedding Crashers”
11. Beenie Man “Come Over”
12. Jah Cure “From My Heart”
13. Black Ryno “Whine Me”
14. Supa Hype, Munga & Chi Ching “Imma Need Security”
15. I Octane “How Some Bwoy”
16. Wayne Marshall “Good Ole Wife”
17. Gregory Isaacs “Penitentiary”

Leave a Reply